
A German-founded crowdsourcing platform, now an LXT subsidiary, that runs AI training data, survey, store check, tagging, crowdtesting and list building projects through a global crowd of registered freelancers — serving both the companies ordering data and the Clickworkers earning per task.
Used this tool? Rate it
Used this tool? Rate it
ClickWorker is a crowdsourcing platform that turns large, repetitive data work into small units of paid human effort. The company describes itself as a data services company that runs data projects on its own platform, where a global crowd carries out data collection, data validation, data labeling and data categorization, all managed through briefings, filters and quality assurance processes. In practice that covers everything from building AI training datasets to sending real people into supermarkets to photograph a shelf.
The most important thing to understand before reading further is that this platform has two entirely different audiences, and they are not interchangeable. On the demand side are companies that need data produced, cleaned or verified at a volume their own staff cannot absorb. On the supply side are the Clickworkers themselves: the site states plainly that Clickworkers are freelancers who utilize the workplace platform, choosing which tasks to accept and being paid per completed job. The website even splits its login and registration into separate "For Customers" and "For Clickworkers" paths. Most of what follows matters differently depending on which side of that split you are on, so this article deliberately addresses both rather than pretending the platform has one kind of user.
The operating entity is clickworker Germany GmbH, registered at the Düsseldorf court under HRB 106405, with a VAT ID of DE451764124, a managing director named Christian Rozsenich and a European address in Essen; a US entity, clickworker.com, Inc., operates from New York. Since 2025 both entities are a subsidiary of LXT, a Toronto-based AI data company, which reshapes how the platform positions itself: AI training data is now delivered in close cooperation with that parent company.
The company is older than the crowdsourcing category it now occupies. Its own timeline records it as incorporated in 2005 as humangrid GmbH, launching a self-service marketplace in 2009, introducing the clickworker brand and domain in 2010, renaming itself clickworker GmbH in 2013, certifying to ISO 27001 in 2022, and being acquired by LXT in 2025, after which the business is conducted through the new company clickworker Germany GmbH. Two decades of operating history is unusual in this market and worth weighing against the newer entrants it is often compared with.
Crowdsourcing platforms tend to cluster into three shapes: pure microtask marketplaces where buyers post work directly, managed data-services vendors that take a brief and return a finished dataset, and hybrid platforms that do both. ClickWorker sits closest to the third but leans managed — for everything except surveys, buyers go through a sales conversation rather than a self-checkout. That single fact explains most of the differences between this platform and the self-serve tools it is often listed alongside.
Crowd size is the number most often quoted about this platform, and it deserves care. The homepage refers to over eight million verified Clickworkers in one paragraph and more than 10 million in the adjacent benefits panel — two different figures on the same page. The corporate timeline puts the ten-million mark at 2026, while the trade press reported six million at the time of the acquisition, and the company's own Trustpilot profile describes a community of over six million freelancers. None of these is necessarily wrong; they are snapshots from different moments and different definitions of an active member. They are also vendor-reported figures rather than independently audited disclosures, so treat them as order-of-magnitude indicators rather than precise counts.
It is not a self-service annotation tool you can log into and start using on a credit card, except for surveys. It is not an AI model or an automation product — the intelligence being sold is human. And it is not an employer: the relationship with the crowd is explicitly freelance, a distinction with real consequences covered further below.
The path depends entirely on which side you are on, so both are set out here.
Buyers wanting an instant self-serve tool with a public price list will find the managed model slow. Teams with highly confidential or regulated data need to evaluate the distributed-workforce model on its own terms. And anyone seeking a reliable primary income should read the company's own disclaimer before investing time.
Independent reporting describes the platform as highly automated with mobile-first and desktop options for its freelancers, who completed more than 600 million jobs in 2022 — a useful third-party indication of throughput at the time.
For buyers, there is no public price list, and this is by design rather than an omission. The company states that costs are calculated according to the amount of time involved and the quality requirements, that these vary from project to project, and that consequently you will receive an individual offer on demand. Any figure quoted elsewhere as "the price of clickworker" should be treated with suspicion, because the platform does not publish one. Billing follows a monthly rhythm: invoices are issued at the end of the month for results rendered until then, sent by mail or email.
There is one exception to the quote-based model. Survey work can be ordered through the Self-Service Marketplace without a sales conversation, which makes surveys the only service with a genuinely self-serve entry path. For everything else — AI training data, store checks, tagging, crowdtesting, list building, SEO services — the route is an individual order through the sales team, with specifications agreed first and, for large orders, a test order typically preceding full production.
For workers the economics run in the opposite direction and are structured per task rather than per hour. The amount is fixed and published ahead of time, and payment is made for each accepted and completed task. The app surfaces the rate before you accept a job, so the decision is always made with the figure visible. Payouts are processed through several providers including PayPal, Payoneer and bank transfer, with the company stating it makes thousands of payments each week. Specific rates, minimum payout thresholds and fee structures are not published on the public site and vary by project, so this article does not state numbers that could not be verified from the official pages (To be verified).
The genuine decision axis between these is not feature lists but engagement model: whether you want to design and police the work yourself on a self-serve marketplace, or hand over a brief and receive a checked deliverable.
The income disclaimer is the company's own, and it is unusually direct. The official worker-facing page states that working as a clickworker is no substitute for full-time employment, and that both the project offer and the monthly income can vary greatly and cannot be guaranteed. Anyone evaluating this as a primary income source should weigh that sentence heavily — it comes from the platform itself, not from critics.
Task availability is conditional, not universal. Available work varies from person to person based on qualification assessments, previous work assessments, education, language abilities and interests, and the site notes you may be offered some projects or excluded from others. Two people registering on the same day can therefore have completely different experiences, which is a frequent source of disappointment among new participants.
A significant share of the available work lives on someone else's platform. The worker-facing site states that clickworker is one of the UHRS providers with the highest HitApp availability and refers to it as a partner platform. That matters practically: when a large portion of the task supply is hosted by a third party, the task availability, rejection decisions and technical reliability a worker experiences are not always fully within clickworker's own control — a nuance that is easy to miss when judging the platform purely by its own interface.
Public worker sentiment is polarised and, on balance, poor. On Trustpilot the platform holds a TrustScore of 2.6 out of 5 across 3,153 reviews, with a distribution of 64% five-star, 13% four-star, 5% three-star, 3% two-star and 15% one-star. That shape matters: it is bimodal rather than uniformly negative, meaning experiences diverge sharply rather than clustering around mediocre. The platform has claimed its profile since June 2017 and replies to 99% of negative reviews, which is a meaningful engagement signal even where the underlying complaints remain unresolved.
The recurring complaints cluster around payment and access. Trustpilot's summary of recent reviews reports that most recent reviewers were unhappy, citing disappointing payment mechanics and functionality problems, and specifically that earned tasks sometimes result in zero compensation despite the effort invested. Buyer-side reviews on software directories, while more positive about delivery quality and project-manager support, echo the same concerns about rates being low and approvals being unclear.
Account suspension carries financial consequence, confirmed by the company itself. In its public replies, clickworker explains that accounts suspected of breaching terms are temporarily suspended pending investigation, and that where permanent suspension is upheld, the accounts become inaccessible and any amounts therein are forfeited. This is not an allegation from a disgruntled user; it is the company's own stated policy, and it is the single most important risk for a worker to understand before accumulating an unpaid balance.
Published scale figures are inconsistent across sources. As noted earlier, the site itself carries two different crowd sizes on one page, and third-party reporting gives a third. Additional claims — a workforce located in 136 countries, over 20 years of micro-task expertise, over one million completed projects — are vendor-reported figures rather than independently audited disclosures.
Workers should understand what data the platform holds about them. The official data page distinguishes profile data, used for matching projects and for security checks against fake accounts, from job data — defined as everything created, checked or collected while working, namely texts, surveys, voice recordings, videos, images, evaluations, scores and ratings — which the company describes plainly as the content you are paid for. Separately, payment data covers your PayPal address, Payoneer account or your bank account together with tax identifiers such as an SSN for US citizens or a VAT ID for EU freelancers. That is a meaningful amount of identity and financial information to hand over, and it is worth reading the official pages directly before registering rather than relying on any summary, including this one.
On earnings figures, be sceptical of everything you read — including elsewhere. Search results for "how much can you earn on clickworker" are dominated by affiliate-driven blogs quoting confident hourly ranges with no stated sample or methodology, and this article deliberately reproduces none of them. The platform does not publish rates, they vary by project and country, and the only figure you can rely on is the one shown on the specific task in front of you before you accept it. Worker-community sources that might offer first-hand comparisons could not be retrieved during research, so the honest position is that independent verification of typical earnings is unavailable rather than that earnings are known to be good or bad.
Buyer-side constraints deserve equal attention. The absence of a public price list means budget planning requires a sales cycle. The managed model means less direct control over individual workers. And distributed human processing raises confidentiality questions that must be assessed against your own data-handling obligations rather than assumed away.
What the official site does not document publicly. Attempts to retrieve full terms and conditions, a complete privacy policy and detailed payment terms from conventionally named paths returned the homepage rather than real pages, and the sitemap confirms no such standalone pages exist at those addresses; the detailed worker terms live behind a separate support environment. Consequently, specific contractual terms, payout thresholds and fee percentages are not stated in this article — the official website makes no public statement on them at the addresses checked, and figures circulating elsewhere could not be verified against a primary source.
The two sides answer differently. For Clickworkers, registration and participation cost nothing — the platform pays you per completed task rather than charging you, and any service asking a fee to "get you started" on it is not the platform itself. For customers, it is a paid service with no free tier: pricing is quoted per project based on the time involved and quality requirements.
There is no published price list. Costs are calculated according to the amount of time involved and the quality requirements, vary from project to project, and are provided as an individual offer on request. Invoices are then issued at the end of the month for the results delivered to that point. Because of this, any specific price quoted by a third-party site should be treated as unreliable.
Only for surveys. The Self-Service Marketplace covers survey work exclusively; every other service — AI training data, store checks, tagging, crowdtesting, list building and SEO services — requires an individual order placed through the sales team as a managed service.
The platform does not promise an amount, and states directly that the project offer and monthly income can vary greatly and cannot be guaranteed, and that the work is no substitute for full-time employment. Each task's payment is fixed and published before you accept it, so you always see the rate in advance; what varies is how many suitable tasks are available to your profile.
Because task visibility is conditional. Which jobs you are shown depends on qualification assessments, previous work assessments, education, language abilities and interests, and the site states you may be offered some projects or excluded from others. Completing qualification tests carefully and maintaining quality on early work is what expands the pool over time.
Yes. The company states that accounts engaged in activity likely to breach its terms are temporarily suspended while an investigation takes place, and that if permanent suspension is upheld the account becomes inaccessible and any amounts held in it are forfeited. Avoiding anything that resembles duplicate accounts or rule circumvention is therefore financially material, not merely procedural.
The Clickworker app is available for Android and iOS, requiring an iPhone or iPad on iOS 13 or later, or an Android device on Android 5.0 or later, and it uses the same account as the web platform. Desktop work through a regular browser is also supported; independent reporting describes the platform as offering both mobile-first and desktop options.
Workers are selected by verified skills, tested and trained, and continuously evaluated on output, with statistical process control, audits and peer reviews layered on top; text deliverables are additionally checked automatically by Copyscape for plagiarism and against a specified keyword density. Finished results reach you by email, directly into your own system via API, or through an AWS server you are given access to.
The company states it is certified to ISO 27001 for its information security management system and describes itself as 100% GDPR compliant, covering secure storage, transmission and processing of data. As with any such claim, buyers with specific regulatory obligations should request current certification documentation directly rather than relying on a website statement.
Since 2025 it has been part of LXT, a Toronto-based AI data company; the legal notice confirms that both clickworker Germany GmbH and clickworker.com, Inc. are a subsidiary of LXT. Trade coverage reported the deal as closing in early 2025, noted that it adds more than 500 enterprise clients to the acquirer's portfolio, and that clickworker's managing director took the CTO role at the parent. AI training data services are now delivered in close cooperation with that parent company.