Headspace is a meditation app for iPhone, iPad and Android that pairs guided meditation and sleep audio with Ebb, an AI companion for self-reflection, plus separately paid text coaching and, for US adults, video therapy. The company describes it as a lifelong guide to better mental health built on evidence-based meditation and mindfulness tools, sleep resources and mental health coaching.
Headspace says it was founded in 2010. It has announced that it has entered into an agreement to be acquired by Sword. Trade press reporting on a Massachusetts regulatory filing named OrangeDot as Headspace's parent company and described an all-cash deal. The help center states that the announcement brings no immediate changes to subscriptions, billing, pricing or access through an employer or health plan.
The App Store listing showed 4.8 out of 5 from about 974,000 ratings as captured on September 28, 2026, while billing complaints on a consumer review platform (see Limitations) point the other way.
Ebb, Headspace's AI mental health companion, is an empathetic conversational AI chatbot inside the app that helps members reflect on stress, work or sleep. Members can talk or type, and Ebb remembers earlier conversations so a chat can resume where it left off. It suggests meditations and activities drawn from Headspace's own library, so it works as a personalized guide to that content rather than a general-purpose assistant.
According to Headspace, every message sent to Ebb is screened by a proprietary Safety Risk Identification system covering seven risk types, including suicidal ideation, self-harm, domestic violence and eating disorders. When a risk is detected, Ebb points the member to crisis care, including 988 in the US and Canada, and ends the conversation. Flagged messages are de-identified before licensed clinicians review the high-risk ones. Clinicians also read a random daily sample of conversations for quality assurance. Guardrails keep Ebb from giving medical advice on treatment or diagnosis, including discussing medications, from using clinical therapeutic techniques, and from off-topic requests such as travel planning or creative writing.
Headspace offers individual therapy for adults over what it calls a HIPAA-compliant telehealth platform, using secure video sessions with licensed therapists trained in approaches such as CBT, ACT and DBT. Psychiatry is offered only in the US through the Headspace Care team. Between sessions, therapy members can use meditations, sleep support and Ebb, but that access requires a Headspace subscription and may require an additional purchase.
Headspace suits people who want a structured way to build a meditation habit and may later want human support in the same app. A March 2026 technology-publication roundup that discloses affiliate commissions ranked Headspace first mainly for its "dedication to gradual progression".
Likely good fits:
Poorer fits:
| Service | Who can use it | Language |
|---|---|---|
| Meditation and sleep library | Subscribers on the iOS or Android app | Six app languages (translated content only) |
| Ebb (text and voice) | Paid members aged 18+ in the US, UK, Canada and Australia | English only |
| Consumer coaching | US residents aged 18+ | Not stated |
| Therapy | Adults aged 18+ residing in the US | English only |
| Psychiatry | US only, via the Headspace Care team | Not stated |
The help center says Ebb Voice is also open to free trialists, while the Ebb product page refers only to paid members.
Headspace pricing splits into three separate bills: the app subscription, an optional coaching subscription and per-session therapy fees. Figures below were captured on September 28, 2026.
| Plan | Listed price | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| Annual (Solo) | $69.99 / €57.99 / £49.99 / 91.99 AUD / 89.99 CAD per year | Full content library |
| Monthly | $12.99 per month (US) | Full content library |
| Family | $99.99 per year on the Family plan page; $99.00 on the renewal-rate page | Up to six people, including the owner |
| Student | $9.99 / €8.99 / £7.99 / 12.99 AUD / 12.99 CAD per year | Verified post-secondary students aged 18+ |
| Coaching | $99.99 per month | Three 30-minute text sessions a month plus the library |
| Therapy with insurance | Most members pay $0–$35 per session | Video sessions for US adults |
| Therapy without insurance | $149 per session | Video sessions for US adults |
Two Headspace pages list different Family plan prices. The help center notes that final pricing may vary by region and may include taxes such as VAT or sales tax.
The site navigation advertises a 14-day free trial. The terms allow only one free trial per person regardless of subscription method, and trials convert automatically into a paid annual or monthly plan unless canceled. Promotional rates renew at full price once the promotion ends. Coaching carried a limited-time first-month price of $49.99 instead of $99.99 at capture.
Student status is re-verified yearly; if it is not verified at least 24 hours before renewal, the account moves into a one-year Alumni subscription at 40% off the regular annual price. Eligible countries differ by page. The student-plan page header names the United States, UK, Australia, Canada, France, Portugal and Spain. The help center names the United States, Australia, Canada, France, Germany and the UK.
Headspace says it is in-network with over 45 major insurance plans, including Cigna, UnitedHealthcare, Optum and Blue Cross Blue Shield. It is not a direct Medicare or Medicaid provider, though it is in-network with select Medicare Advantage and managed Medicaid plans. On HSA and FSA the pages conflict: the therapy page says Headspace accepts FSA/HSA. The help center says HSA/FSA cards cannot currently be used as direct payment, so members pay by card and submit receipts for reimbursement. Canceling a clinical session with less than 48 hours' notice, or missing it, can cost a $125 fee or one covered session. Three consecutive cancellations or no-shows may end care.
The same affiliate-disclosing 2026 roundup compared Headspace with two other popular meditation apps:
The roundup compares meditation content only. Headspace describes itself as integrating mental health care, mindfulness and coaching into one platform, which that comparison does not cover.
Only in a limited way. The free trial unlocks the full library and then converts to a paid plan unless canceled.
Headspace accepts insurance for US therapy sessions, and access to the app or coaching can also come through an employer or health plan benefit.
No. Headspace says Ebb does not replace human care and directs members to crisis resources when it detects risk.
The app is sold in several currencies and Ebb is available in the UK, Canada and Australia, but therapy and psychiatry are US-only.